Agar-agar acts as a gelatin, but is also used as an emulsifier, thickener and stabilizer in many commercial products such as ice cream and soups. It can also be used to clarify wine and beer. It is preferred by vegetarians to gelatin which is made from animals. It is made from red and purple seaweed….
Gelatin © Denzil Green Gelatin is a thickening agent that has no taste, smell or colour. It is made by boiling down animal parts such as hooves, bones, skin and gristle. You can also get kosher Gelatin (made only from animals that are considered kosher and which have been killed in a kosher fashion), and…
Gelled Tomato, Basil and Raspberry Vinaigrette Salad
This is a wonderful chilled salad to go with meat dishes such as pork or beef, or as part of a summer salad or barbeque plate. It tastes only slightly sweet, and is like a retro version of tomatoes and basil with a raspberry vinaigrette.
Isinglass is a gelatin-like substance that can be purchased in dried or liquid form. It can be used to remove haze from liquid products such as beer or wine, or as a gelatin.
Ricotta, Coleslaw and Lime Jelly Salad
This is a refreshing chilled salad with a slightly tangy, slightly sweet taste and a satisfying crunch to it. You can make this a day (or several days) ahead.
Swamp Slime Recipe
Swamp Slime is a classic Hallowe’en party drink for grown-up kids.